Croston Velo Time Trial

Race Report – Croston Velo Time Trial – 27/04/2019 – 18:00

Croston Velo hosted its first ever open time trial on the evening of Saturday 27th April. It wasn’t the easiest conditions for our first attempt with high winds and heavy rain in the forecast, it wasn’t until 14:00 on the Saturday that the call was finally made to proceed with the race and not cancel it.

Firstly, we would like to thank Nigel Clementson who stepped up to head the organisation, Nigel has a wealth of experience in bringing these events together and we couldn’t of done it without his support.

We would then also like to thank all the Croston Velo volunteers who gave up their time on a grim evening to stand by a road in Cumbria and get very wet!

HQ – Nigel Clementson, Daniel Styler, Shirley Ryding & Sharon Parker

Timekeepers – Tracey Moore & Derrick Black with Kerry Rigby as spotter

Pushing off – Carl Ryding & Brian Parker

Marshalls – Andrea Whitehouse, Alison Price, Jane Bodrick, John DeCamp, Nick Clarke, Peter Bland & Peter Rigby.

We would also like to thank the Caddy Café (mobile café) and Nicky and George Wilson for their excellent service and providing quality hot drinks to keep us all warm and hydrated!

Now to the race, with the challenging weather the turnout was not at its best with a number of riders deciding not to make the journey and some deciding to not ride at all (potentially wisely) when the heavens decided to open 20 minutes after the first rider was off. With a stern side wind for most of the course we were not expecting the quickest of times. However we were proved wrong with some pretty impressive times being recorded and a PB or two floating around from the conversations back at HQ.

At the same time we were also hosting the NLTTA junior 10 miles time trial championships where some further impressive times were posted.

Congratulations to our winners Adam Duggleby of Vive Le Velo who won the men’s event with an impressive time of 19:03, while Erica Booth of Lancashire Road Club won the women’s prize with a PB of 21:53. I’m delighted to say that Croston Velo won the team prize with great rides from Tom Rigby, Sean Owens and Graham Yardley. Croston Velo also had two on the podium with Tom Rigby taking 3rd place in the men’s and Lindsey Styler taking 2nd in the women’s.

The podium for the NLTTA Juvenile/Junior 10 mile championships was Bronze to Adam Harris of Abergavenny RC with a time of 22:21, Silver for Samuel Pugh of Salt Ayre Cog Set and the winner on the day with an excellent time of 21:10 was  Aidan Lawrence of Green Jersey RT. 

Full list of prize winners below

1st Male Adam Duggleby Vive Le Velo 19:03
2nd Male    Andy Jackson Aerocoach 19:39
3rd Male Tom Rigby Croston Velo 19:47
4th Male Dave Allonby Springfield Financial RT20:12
5th Male Henry Moss Barrow Central Wheel 20:35
6th Male Beau Smith Ribble Cycles 20:45
1st Female Erica Booth Lancashire RC 21:53
2nd Female Lindsey Styler Croston Velo 23:52
3rd Female Vanessa
Springfield Financial RT 24:28
1st V40 John Morgan RT 20:45
1st V50 Adrian Hughes Seamons CC 21:02
1st V60 John Huggon Ribble Valley C & RC 22:35`
1st Team Croston Velo  

Massive thank you to Raymond Bracewell for braving the damp conditions to take some awesome photos. A full album from the day can be found at

Full results for the race are now available on CTT at